Cool Rider

Lucille comes home for a visit!

(Mum – DO NOT READ!!)

lucilleLast night I got to cross one thing off my life’s to-do list – ride a Harley. KoD had a Harley a while back, and much to my chagrin, sold it before he met me. How was he to know he was soon to meet and marry a Harley fanatic?! She is a beauty, isn’t she? He named her Lucille – how many of you know who or what the original Lucille was?

So the dude who bought her is a friend, and KoD asked him last week if we could borrow her for a couple of days. Of course he didn’t tell me and totally surprised me!! Now, you must understand, hardly any Harley owners lend their bikes. It’s just not the done thing. So this was an extra special favour.

HarleyDude rode her over yesterday. KoD and I were sitting watching some telly and all of a sudden KoD jumps up and says “that’s my bike!” – I couldn’t even hear anything, but his spidey sense was going off. I cannot tell you how excited I was to see her. HarleyDude visited with us a while and we drove him home. We came home, ate a quick supper, KoD davened, and we got changed to go for a night ride.

harley 004O M Goodness Gracious Me!! The KoD came downstairs totally Harleyed up from head to toe. FatBoy boots, black jeans, Harley tee, Harley belt even. Scrumptious. Because he hadn’t ridden her in a while, he took Lucille for a spin around the block a few times, alone, just to adjust to riding her again. I was waiting by the door, helmet on, jumping up and down with excitement. Like a little child. But you must understand, I have dreamed of riding a Hog forever!

Finally he thundered up, and showed me how to climb on safely without burning my leg on the exhaust pipe thingy. You know something, it’s just like climbing on a horse. Except with way more power – 1450 ccs of it! They don’t call a Harley an Iron Horse for nothing!  I grabbed on to his waist, listened to his instructions, and off we zoomed.

I wasn’t nervous at all. KoD has been riding motorbikes for over 30 years – he is a safe driver and I trust him. If I didn’t I wouldn’t have gone riding with him. It’s that simple. He had explained to me that when he leans to take a curve I need to lean with him. I wasn’t even conscious of doing it, it was just so instinctual. Riding locally was fine, we weren’t going fast, and I adjusted to the feel of being on the bike.

harley 006Then we hit the Palisades Parkway and accelerated big time. Wheeeeee!! To me the thrill felt like the adrenalin when you are sitting waiting for the roller coaster to begin. And it just kept getting better. KoD drove so smoothly, was very aware of his surroundings and took no risks. He is the safest rider around.

You know how when you drive along and a bike pulls up next to you at a stop light and you look at it and salivate and think how lucky the driver is that he gets to ride such an awesome bike? We were those people!! What a mind trip!! The boys and I notice Harleys wherever we go, take pictures, send them to KoD and he tells us which model and what modifications were done. Apparently you don’t just buy a Harley and ride it as is.  (You learn something new every day!)

Anyhow, so we rode over into New Jersey, and came home via the scenic route. It was just awesome. I felt so free. I think I had a huge cheesy grin on my face the entire time. Riding on a bike makes you see the scenery differently than in a car, and I think you are just more vigilant and aware. In a car, with the windows closed, you don’t get to come into contact with the sounds and smells of the countryside. Ok, granted, some you don’t want to suffer through, but it’s an added to dimension to one’s experience.

The only problem as far as I see it, is that it’s very difficult to have a conversation with your riding partner without feeling like you are yelling. And your mouth gets dry. And bugs fly up into your face. But it is all so worth it.

I had the ride of my life last night and it was all I imagined it to be and more. Thank you HarleyDude for loaning us Lucille, and thank you to my KoD who is the most awesome husband ever. (any chance of riding her later on, my love? Pretty please?)

Bookmark and Share

27 responses to “Cool Rider

  1. lol what is it with the jewish biker dudes? Is this a trend? My dad has a goldwing (the minivan of motorcycles) and my brother has a bike too not sure what kind (but much more sporty than my dad’s). They are both part of some jewish biker club. 🙂

  2. Nice. I guess I never really thought about it seeing as I live in Harley-Country (Milwaukee Wisconsin) and everywhere there are Harleys and every five years tons of them roll into town for the anniversary thingys.

  3. AE – is he a member of the Kosher Hogs?

    le7 – have you ever ridden one?

  4. Nope. I don’t know anyone who drives one that it would be OK for me to ride on a bike with them. My friend last year married a guy with a Harley so she got to ride one, but my husband-to-be is definitely not a Harley dude. 🙂

  5. AE, your father and brother probably belong to Chai Riders.

    BTW, I liked your description of the Goldwing.

  6. KoD, Duuuude, can you answer my q??

  7. QoH, of course, we can ride later… But, it will cost you!!

    BTW, everyone, QoH is a natural rider, so I can now refer to her not only as QoH but also as LOH (Lady of Harley).

  8. yeah chai riders sounds about right…I went to one of their rides once with my dad + my ex (who also had a bike) maybe 7 or 8 years ago. I think they all ride together at the israeli day parade.

    the goldwing..ha…srsly that thing has more fancy features than my prius. And most are completely useless (like heat…um, you’re on a motorcycle). Come to think of it, it might actually be bigger than my prius.. 🙂

  9. Natural Rider is she? Hmmmmmm…

  10. nice try Mark, really, kol haKavod, but *buzzer* – wrong….. a little older…

  11. Lucille Ball from I Love Lucy?

  12. *buzzer* great try…but wrong, le7!

  13. Lucille”….. From the movie Cool Hand Luke

  14. Z! – it isnt her either!!

  15. LOH (I mean QoH), why don’t you
    give ’em a hint.

  16. coz i am mean that way, my love, my King!!

  17. ok fine, she’s been around since the late 40s…

  18. Good hint!!

  19. B.B. King’s most identifiable trademark is his guitar ‘Lucille’?

  20. ding ding ding!! Z! gets the prize…my eternal friendship…..

    KoD started listening to blues as a teenager, and BB King was his favourite….

  21. It was either that Kenny Roger’s “Lucille”
    (as i believe KoD is a country fan?), but the lyrics to the song didn’t seem to apply…

  22. Hey, I guessed the answer 3 weeks ago at Papa Ernie’s. When are we going out again?

  23. Z! he does NOT listen to country at all. he is a blues man through and through!!

  24. the chai riders are the highlight of the israeli day parade.

    i got a motorcycle license a long time ago but my mother wouldn’t let me use it. since then my wife hasn’t let me. 🙂

  25. LOZ –
    If you ask my son when he is getting a motorcycle, he says “Never. Mommy doesn’t let.” He is 5, how long do you think I’ll get away with this?

    Hadassah- I am glad you had a good time! Lucky you are not my daughter 😉

  26. TripnMommy – my mum is gonna flip when she reads this – hi Mummy!! if i was my own daughter i wouldnt let her ride till she was 18 and riding with someone with plenty of experience and understood the risks involved.

    perhaps, tripnMommy, when i get my license and my bike (i can dream cant i?) i will take you for a ride and you might change your mind??

What do YOU think?