Welcome to the Yiddishe Mama Blog Carnival, Inaugural Edition

I read a lot of blogs, many of them written by fellow Jewish mommies, so I wanted to create a carnival of some great articles, so other people can enjoy their wise words of wisdom. When I was ending primary school back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, we sang My Yiddishe Mama as part of our end of year show. I wanted to kick off the party with a quote from that song “Oh I know that I owe what I am today; To that dear little lady so old and gray; To that wonderful Yiddishe Mama, Mama of mine.”

 

Love ‘em or get guilted by ‘em, us Jewish folks all have or had one, and we owe them so much.

 

(I would like to dedicate this first edition to my own mother who sacrificed so much to bring us up, and if I say so myself, she did a darn fine job)

 

Parenting

 

First up we have Juggling Frogs talking about how awards for the worst mommy generally mean the opposite.

 

A Living Nadneyda  gives us a play by play on her kids dealing with the unfairness of life in a Secret Scoreboard .

 

Becca Glouzstein of Inspiration for Mothers.com asks, is your child an eagle or a chicken? Ways to teach your child who s/he is.

 

A Mother in Israel talks about the benefits and drawbacks of homeschooling a large family.

 

Personal

 

Isramom shares with us the profoundly moving experience of being with her baby as she brought forth the next generation into the world

 

This is my own post about watching my son practicing laying tefillin before his barmitzvah.

 

Kids

 

Ruti Mizrachi, in her blog Ki Yachol Nuchal, talks about their first year in Israel – and brotherly love.  

 

RivkA, of Coffee and Chemo, talks about the amazing faith of a little child.

 

This carnival is not a huge one but quality always wins out over quantity, but I am hoping that in the future there will be many more quality submissions. Please go here to submit an article for the next Yiddishe Mama Carnival.

 

Signed

My kids favourite guilt-inducing chicken-soup-making booboo-kissing Yiddishe Mama.

16 responses to “Welcome to the Yiddishe Mama Blog Carnival, Inaugural Edition

  1. This is awesome 🙂 Glad you got it rolling!

    You might want to tap my friend the Kosher Academic, since she’s a blogging mom who is also getting her PhD while raising THREE kids in a foreign country (okay, Canada, but still). Anyway, she’s awesome.

    kosheracademic.blogspot.com

  2. What defines a yiddeshe mama? Is it purely a female perspective or is a yiddishe parent perspective? In a household where a male member of the family does a majority of the “traditional” tasks on a regular basis – does he qualify for “mama-hood” or is he still “just the tati?”. Now my own blog in not about my children or even to any great extent about me as a jew, though it might make interesting reading. Or not, who can say.

    Once I understand the parameters I may be better qualified to consider a future contribution.

  3. Chavi = thanks i shall check her out too. (i live in the same “foreign” country too….)

  4. ron – i see myself as a yiddishe mama, and thats why the blog carnival title, but i have no objections to including, in the future, submissions from yiddishe tattis too….you know me, bro, i am so not sexist like that…..come one come all!

  5. Hi Hadassah–thanks so much for including me. But I don’t homeschool!

  6. mother in israel – point taken!

  7. Mazel Tov! I’d love to be considered for future editions, thanks so much for the invitation. It’s a great idea.

  8. This is a lovely idea. Thanks for including my most favorite post.

  9. Pingback: Jewlicious » Haveil Havalim #190 - Post Election Panic!

  10. Pingback: Here in HP, a Highland Park, New Jersey blog » Carnivals ‘n Links

  11. This is great! Please put me on your reminder list.

  12. Mazal tov on the inaugural edition of this carnival! Thanks for including me in such great company!

  13. Please update your bc account. It says that there’s no new edition planned. I tried to send a link, but the site fell, as usual.
    http://me-ander.blogspot.com/2008/11/next-generation.html

  14. Me too, me too! Let me know when the next one goes up.

  15. Happy to find this. Might be just the kick in the kishkes to get me typing regularly … but then again, it might not.

    Either way, happy to be here …

  16. I am so excited to find this. I love reading mommy blogs.

    Also, how do I get into one of these carnivals?

What do YOU think?