Chicken soup with matzah balls

I am about to break with tradition and share my recipe. It has been a closely guarded secret for many years, but there is no reason why other people should not be able to enjoy what my kids deem the best chicken soup in the world. I have had ex boyfriends propose marriage just for this soup.

The main ingredient, and I know it sounds silly, is the love and happiness you put in it. I never make my soup when I am sad. I always think about the people I am making it for, and transmit that love and affection to the soup.

 

Ok, so if you know me by now, you know that I don’t really do exact quantities because I cook by “eye”.

 

You need to make the soup in a large enamel pot – it just tastes better, trust me!

 

I generally use 4 large chicken breasts

Optional – chicken necks and pipiks (stomachs)

A whole bunch of celery, sliced

About 8 large carrots, peeled and sliced, or a large bag of baby carrots (less work)

2 parsnips, peeled and sliced

2 large onions – diced or sliced

Salt and Pepper to taste

A decent amount of fresh chopped dill

3 bay leaves

 

Put all the ingredients into the enamel pot, cover with plenty of water. Boil till a rolling boil, and then simmer for a few hours until time to make the matzah balls.

 

Matzah Balls

 

1/3 cup olive oil

1/3 cup cold water

2 eggs

Pinch of salt

Approx one cup of Matzah Meal

 

Mix all the ingredients together till you get a consistency of wet cement. Refrigerate for an hour. Boil up the soup to a rolling boil, form mixture into balls and drop in to soup gently. They will fluff up as they cook. Simmer for at least an hour.

 

Bookmark and Share

7 responses to “Chicken soup with matzah balls

  1. I can’t believe you have just given this out! I had to know you for YEARS and get MARRIED to get the recipe!

    I hope that everyone here knows just how lucky they are that you’ve given this out… now you’ll have to give the recipe out for your chicken pot pie…(wink wink)?

  2. Z! i was in a generous mood…. i guess we will have to wait for the next millenium for my chicken pot pie recipe – that will need to be a reallllllly generous mood!

  3. lady lock and load

    This is so hysterical, I am about to put up my chicken soup! What a coincedence! Thank you so much. If you need a recipe for something, please let me know, I love to share recipes…

    • its tuesday – and you are making chicken soup…..are you cooking for pesach ALREADY??? and if so, i feel so woefully inadequate that my kitchen is still full of chametz……..can i be you when i grow up??

  4. lady lock and load

    No, don’t worry, I am not cooking for pesach, it is for this shabbos! My kitchen is not pesachdik just yet. My kids say that pesach is for eight days, not three weeks! I am changing over on motzei shabbat.

  5. Pingback: Hadassah’s Chicken Pot Pie « In the Pink

What do YOU think?