“For the one I love”

I spent hours looking for a greeting card to give to my husband on our wedding day. We are both very much into giving each other cards, always looking for the ones with deep meaning. I like to hide cards and messages for him to find when I am not around – I love seeing the smile on his face when he finds them and reads them.

 

So after many hours of searching in many stores I found the perfect one. It was simple, not too wordy and left plenty of space for me to write my message (I am never brief as I am sure you have realized). On the front it said “for the one I love” – with a very brief message printed inside. I filled it up with a message written from my heart.

 

I gave KoD the card after the chuppah – he was touched and awed. It was a perfect moment. Little did I know…..

 

So, two days after the wedding we drove back together to Monsey, where KoD had not been since 3 days before the wedding. I walked into our bedroom to see a card laying on what is now my pillow. I opened the envelope – it was the same card I had bought for him!!! How is that even possible, that 330 miles away from each other, we both choose the same perfect card to give to each other on the occasion of our marriage?

 

Fate, kismet, coincidence – call it what you want. I just call it “us”.

11 responses to ““For the one I love”

  1. thats a crazy story!! so beshert!

  2. I call it wonderful 🙂 Hey HSM…do you have my private blog address? It’s on LJ so you’d need a password. If you’d like one…let me know.

  3. aww you guys are too cute! I love it!

    So did you guys make the move already to Monsey? How is that working out with your kids/ex (who I assume is still in canada?) I’m wondering how people work out family/custody arrangements after second marriages, especially after such a big move 🙂

  4. It’s called “lockstep”….
    enjoy it… every step of the way 🙂

  5. What a magnificent story. Hope you and Ira share many other bashert moments and incidents like this one throughout your lifetime together.

  6. Rifki and I have a name for this phenomenon: “two peas in a pod.”

  7. Enjoy…

    great story

  8. WOW! That is beautiful 🙂 I love, love, love giving cards. The boyfriend isn’t so much into it, but hey, it lets me give lots of cards!

  9. lady lock and load

    I am so very happy for the two of you. I took all of our cards and put them into a scrap book. I should have put a lock on the scrap book. My nosey daughters found it and laughed how mushy gushy I was.
    P.S. Finally found a perfect wedding gift for you guys…I decided against the Heinz ketchup from costco! Sorry KoD…

  10. Your card story is amazing! Blessing upon blessing to you, your loved ones and marriage.

  11. Beautiful moment. Thank you for sharing it.

What do YOU think?