Never ask questions!

I should learn. I really should.

I rarely make Deli Roll for Shabbat, only Squiggy eats it, and it’s a patchke especially when there is not much of an audience for it.

We had guests for lunch this Shabbat, so I made it. It is, after all, a staple at many North American Jewish homes for Shabbat lunch. Squiggy was in heaven.

After Shabbat, as I was washing dishes, he came up behind me, laid his head on my shoulder, and thanked me for a wonderful Shabbat, and for the deli roll. It was the best thing about his Shabbat.

I said to him, “the deli roll was the best thing about Shabbat? Not spending time with your Ima and your family?”.

“Ima”, he says, “you’re around ALL the time. Deli Roll isn’t”.

Edged out of the priority list by food. Hmmmph!!

9 responses to “Never ask questions!

  1. What is a deli roll?

  2. “They” don’t say ‘the best way to a man’s heart is through his stomach’ for nothin’. 🙂
    Also, not sure what deli roll is. But it sounds like something I might like.

  3. You are right. This is typically the kind of questions you should never, ever ask…

    I mean come on, your teenager makes you a compliment for your deli roll because he enjoyed it, and you think the compliment is not good enough??? What did you expect!!!!

  4. He’s a teenage boy, of course you lost to food. 🙂

  5. Deli roll, when made properly, is extremely yummy. I am with Squiggy on that one.

  6. LOL!!!
    Joey says that anything in puff pastry dough has gotta be good.
    It’s heartwarming for a mother though, to have the ability to “make” her child’s day with simple dishes.
    I love knowing what they look forward to – then surprise them with the reality.
    Feel the love!
    Enjoy it. 🙂

  7. You skinnies can treat yourself to them. I wouldn’t touch them.
    Your post reminds me of the fact that my older son keeps begging me for my 1, 2, 3 cookies, which I haven’t made for years. I have no self control when they exit the oven.

What do YOU think?