The Power of Twitter

Last Wednesday night (has it been a week already?) I was so honoured to be in a room (a terrace actually) at the HaGov Bar in Central Jerusalem with so many people I had never met before. One person in that room of about 50 people was known to me in my real life before the tweetup – she’s even had the pleasure of my chicken soup. (She tweets for @IsraelMaven).

The rest of the crew were mainly people I have connected with in the three years since I have started tweeting and blogging – and up until now we never had the chance to meet as they live in Israel and I live here.

The awesome William Daroff (@Daroff) joined us and brought some of his Twitter-verse with him – the more the merrier.

The HaGov Bar is owned by the youngest son of Yisrael and Batya Medad – well known bloggers in their own right. When I was looking around for a place to hold the tweetup they suggested the bar, as did my buddy Joel (@funjoel). It was a great suggestion – the drinks were cold and arrived frequently, the food was awesome – not your typical bar food fare. So. Much. Better. We even got a complimentary round of some kind of pink drink in my honour.

I met up with @BenjiLovitt (we first connected on twitter talking about CHUMUS of all things), @Bydahway, @itzuvi, @roopunzel who together with me gave Benji another lesson in Cockney rhyming slang, @rgoldstand was there, I cabbed it home with her and @jessicakorman. Awesomeness!! I got to hang out with the awesome Risa Tzohar, and Hannah Katsman (@amominisrael).

I finally got to hug @tripnmommy who came out from Neve Daniel with @mirigott and @chocoholique. Also representing Neve Daniel was my brewmaster cousin @lonetreebeer whom I had never met before.

There were so many more people there (excuse me for not mentioning everyone) – and it was just a lovely evening. Yisrael insisted on introducing me and I gave something of a welcome speech – never really spoken off the cuff before, but it was fine, and William followed up with some remarks of his own. There was just a very happy vibe in the room. It’s kind of awesome if you think about it, that I have been “talking” to most of these people without meeting them, yet we all feel more than a superficial connection. I was so humbled that so many people made a special effort to come out and meet me – and the hugs and squeals as we all met have a left a huge smile in my heart.

Let’s do this again soon, ok?

4 responses to “The Power of Twitter

  1. I’m glad that you liked our “baby’s baby!”

  2. Just saw this now! Was great to meet you as well, and thanks for the “twout out!” (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

What do YOU think?