Cinnamon Buns

This calls for using 1/3 of my challah dough recipe. I worked it out here for you, in case you don’t want to make cinnamon buns at the same time as challah. I generally make a huge batch of dough and bake challahs and buns and babka at the same time.

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 lbs of flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar (add at least ½ cup more if whole wheat flour is used)
  • 1 1/3 tbsps of dry yeast
  • 1/3 cup of oil
  • 1 1/3 cups of warm water
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 tbsp salt
  • Pam
  • Lots of love

How to:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Pour the flour into a bowl and make a well in the centre.  Place dry yeast into well.  Add 1/3 Tbsp of sugar and 1/3 cup of warm water and 1/3 tbsp of flour to the center well.  Let it bubble up for 5 minutes. Add 1 tbsp of salt around the edges of flour

Add 1/3 cup of sugar to the flour

Add 1/3 cup of oil to the middle

Add 1 beaten egg to the middle

Add 1 cup warm water to the middle

Mix all together until its desired consistency, I use my hands once they have been thoroughly washed, knead it for ten minutes and let rise for 20-30 mins.

Punch down a 2nd time, knead for another 10 minutes and let rise 20-30 mins.

After the dough has risen, use your fingers to shape and stretch it out to an oblong or square shape. You can also use a rolling pin. Doesn’t matter if it isn’t perfect. Spray the dough with a light mist of Pam. Mix a cup of sugar with a decent helping of ground cinnamon. Sprinkle the sugar-cinnamon mix over the dough. You can add raisins too if that floats your boat. Roll up tight. Use sharp knife and cut 1.5 inch sections and place one by one in oblong pan, until the pan is filled. Let rise 30 minutes and bake 30 minutes. When cooled, drizzle with icing.

Bookmark and Share

12 responses to “Cinnamon Buns

  1. You still didn’t give me my cookies.

  2. YUUUUM! How do you make the icing?!?

  3. You can also use prefab dough. I like the sweet dough and someone gave me a recipe to make this sugar free 🙂 It’s TDF! (TO DIE FOR!)

  4. the one thing i would add is that the icing is way better once it has solidified onto the buns!

  5. This sounds amazing! I’m sure I would screw it up quite royally…

  6. You’re in the me-ander: The Pre-Holiday Kosher Cooking Carnival. Visit and spread the word! Chodesh Tov. If you’d like to host one, please let me know. Thanks

  7. Thank you for the amazing Challah recipe! I used it last week, and it was the first time my challah turned out delicious!

  8. Hi,
    I think you mean 1 2/3 lbs of flour – not cups!

What do YOU think?