My World Famous Delicious Pie Cake

Firstly you have to know this is my own recipe, that I adapted from a number of other recipes. I do that. I also add plenty of love and happiness – without adding those ingredients the cake just won’t taste right. I know it sounds corny – but don’t bake this when you are in a bad mood. It just won’t be worth it.

 

Ingredients necessary:

½ cup of Shortening

1/2 cup / 1 stick Margarine / Butter, softened

1 ½ cups of Sugar

1 ½ teaspoons Baking Powder

4 Eggs

1 teaspoon of Vanilla essence

3 cups of Flour

1 21 oz Can Pie Filling – I like cherry or raspberry

Icing sugar

Pam Spray

Love

Happiness

Warm Fuzzies

 

What to Do:

Turn oven on, preheat oven to 350F (180C)

Grease pan with Pam spray – I like to use a 9 x 13 aluminum pan – the disposable kind, makes for easy clean up.

Beat together (on low) shortening, margarine, sugar, baking powder, vanilla and eggs, constantly scraping sides of bowl. As you are mixing think happy thoughts.

Beat it on high for two minutes. More happy loving thoughts. Sprinkle in a smile or two – what can it hurt?!!

Add flour half a cup at a time – mix well.

Take two thirds of the mixture and spread it out over greased pan – you are probably going to have to use your fingers – so make sure they are very clean and the jewellery is removed. Its annoying to get dough out of those rings….

Make sure it’s even – sprinkle more love…..

Spread pie filling over it, making sure every square millimeter is covered.

Using the remaining dough, roll out in your hands lengths of dough and place over pie filling in lattice design. It will feel like you are playing with long worms of dough, but I so love this part. Make it pretty – it will add to the love. Leave space – the dough expands as it bakes.

Bake 45 minutes, or until you feel it is ready.

Take out of oven and leave it to cool, away from sticky hands and hungry tummies.

Turn oven off (hey, people do forget)

Once it is cool, you can glaze it. Also a fun thing to do.

Mix icing sugar with water – I usually measure by sight, but you need experience to do this, so let’s say for argument’s sake, mix 1 cup icing sugar with 2 tablespoons of water / milk. You want it mixed to a goopy consistency. Not too thick but not too runny either. Like Hummous – I guess. If it is too thick add a little more liquid. Too runny – add more icing sugar.

Once that’s mixed you can either just drizzle it out of the mixing bowl over the cake, or you can pipe it over so it looks fancier. Myself, I prefer easy – it all just runs together anyway. Leave it a half hour and its ready to serve.

 

If there is any left I always keep this in the refrigerator.

If you do make it, let me know how it went over.

 

Oh and it is mezonot!!

 

Have fun, and please remember to cook safely in the kitchen.

 

this is a pic without the icing – shows better how it should look.

piecake

Bookmark and Share

16 responses to “My World Famous Delicious Pie Cake

  1. WHAT?! No picture??

  2. oooh sounds yummy!
    Just one question. Is it a cup or a stick of margarine? 1 stick = 1/2 cup…..

  3. G6 – thanks for catching that. its 1/2 cup! i have changed it

    Rif – trying to find a pic…..

  4. Thanks for the clarification.
    I am definitely going to try this.
    I absolutely agree about cooking with all that love – I hear it cuts down on calories as well 😉

  5. Would you mind if I attempted to make this recipe gluten-free and free of refined sugar to put on my blog? Of course, you’ll get props for it. 🙂

    It sounds fantastic, just something I can’t eat…yet.

  6. Kosher CupCake – go right ahead!!! i look forward to it.

  7. When you say 1/2 cup shortening do you mean the solid crisco shortening? So you use 1/2 cup shortening plus 1/2 cup marg? I don’t have shortening, what about using one cup margarine and leaving out the shortening?

  8. yes, sharon, the crisco!
    if you use totally margarine, the consistency of the batter is not as smooth and easy to work with. I would not recommend it. If i was living on the block already i’d have plenty in stock, but somehow i doubt KoD has shortening in his pantry….But u have other great neighbours that you can borrow from i am sure…..

  9. Thank you so much Hadassah! Yes, I can borrow from a neighbor or ask my daughter to run to the store to buy. I love to try new recipes and I have several cans of pie filling to use up. This will be just perfect!

  10. I can also attest to the deliciousness of this recipe, as well. Thanks for sharing. Just seeing that picture reminds me of the taste, and it would def. hit the spot right now.

  11. Thanks for participating in the November KCC! Please don’t forget to spread the word and post a link to it in your blog. Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. OK – sorry – I guess I’m somewhat of a perfectionist. This is a nice pie type cookie bar. There IS a pie cake, usually called Funny Cake, which also has a cake layer — that’s what I was hoping this would be. Personally, I think this would be easier and more eye-appealing if the dough would be grated (maybe it needs a little freezing first) or crumbled (depending on the texture) over the cake. Then I’d sprinkle it with confectioner’s sugar when cold, or you could drizzle it with fondant or as a 2nd choice a glaze.

  13. Lady Lock and Load

    I FINALLY made this recipe (took me a year to do it, can you believe???) In the oven now and thinking of you Hadassah!

  14. Lady Lock and Load

    It came out delicious! What a great recipe! My guests loved it. I still have some if you want to come by tomorrow…yes, it is freezing out, the wind is howling!

What do YOU think?