Daily Archives: December 30, 2008

2008 retrospective

I started writing a look back at the year that was, but the first draft ended up being a play by play of the guys that I dated. I should be blushing here, right, but I will not. I was on a quest to find my prince charming and I guess that was my main focus of this year. Those of you who read all the Frumster Files  (including the deleted ones) know a lot of what I experienced.

 

After many disappointments, and some close calls, this year on Rosh Hashannah my davenning was to ask Hashem to send me what he felt was right for me at this point in my life. I honestly didn’t think He would be so quick in responding.

 

As I look back on 2008 I want to thank every guy that I dated / went out with / conversed and emailed with. You were all a necessary step on my road to finding my King of Diamonds. Ok a few of you I would like to have stepped completely over or on you, but I didn’t get that choice. I learnt something from each and everyone of you – some things about men in general, some things about myself, my likes and dislikes, my preferences, what I will or will not settle for. There were a couple of you that were really close to be the One – but you didn’t make the final cut….oh well, such is life.  (At this point I would like to say that I didn’t settle for anything less than the very best – and I am so blessed)

 

This was the year of finding my beshert, my beloved future husband, the King of Diamonds. He proposed in front of my children, with tears sparkling in his eyes…sigh….I love sharing our story – so read it again here.

 

This was also the year in which we celebrated the barmitzvah of our eldest son, together, in true blended family tradition – with everyone getting along and being there for our son’s moment in the spotlight. Read about it here Son – you did me proud and I am so honoured to be your Ima. I still think back fondly to that weekend – such great positive memories. My fave – when you started speaking about me in your speech and your voice broke, and the whole hall cried with you. My chance to speak – well, that was icing on the cake. Read my speech here .

 

This year I took my eldest son to Israel and introduced him to his country. I was so priviliged to be able to do this, and the memories will live on in both of us forever. My prayer at the kotel. Some holiday musings .

 

I started working outside the house this year, I blogged about it here  and while it was a big adjustment, I would not trade it for the world. To have people to converse with during the day, about important matters, and not just about groceries and kids – that’s a priceless experience. And to get paid for it – what a bonus!!

 

I made a bunch of new friends this year and enjoyed “old” friends too– you have enriched my life more than you can ever know. I hope our friendships continue to go from strength to strength.

 

I also started blogging this year. First month of blog here . It has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had to date. I have always been one to have something to say, and the idea that there are people out there actually interested in what I have to say just continues to blow my mind!

 

I bought a blackberry  and joined the dark side. I started tweeting too – if you haven’t used twitter.com yet – hop on over there and sign up. This has been an invaluable real time tool for me to advertise my blog, to find out what’s going on in the world, and with my own people. Warning –it can be a little bit addictive if you let it. Note to all who asked – I will not be live tweeting my wedding – that’s been done already…thanks SGR for taking that pressure off me!!

 

I gave up coffee three times this year. Every time I was so impressed with myself. I went without coffee for 3 long months at one point. Everyone (except my stomach) is so much happier with me back to drinking my daily caffeine. Some things are just not worth giving up. Caffeine makes me a better mother – it’s the sacrifice I am willing to make. (of course the fact that I love it very much doesn’t hurt ).

 

My message for you all in 2009 is don’t give up on your dream. Sometimes you may have to tweak it a little, refine and reshape – but don’t give up. You never know what life has in store.

 

So my motto for 2009 is this “all will be fine in 2009”.

Bookmark and Share

My World Famous Delicious Pie Cake

Firstly you have to know this is my own recipe, that I adapted from a number of other recipes. I do that. I also add plenty of love and happiness – without adding those ingredients the cake just won’t taste right. I know it sounds corny – but don’t bake this when you are in a bad mood. It just won’t be worth it.

 

Ingredients necessary:

½ cup of Shortening

1/2 cup / 1 stick Margarine / Butter, softened

1 ½ cups of Sugar

1 ½ teaspoons Baking Powder

4 Eggs

1 teaspoon of Vanilla essence

3 cups of Flour

1 21 oz Can Pie Filling – I like cherry or raspberry

Icing sugar

Pam Spray

Love

Happiness

Warm Fuzzies

 

What to Do:

Turn oven on, preheat oven to 350F (180C)

Grease pan with Pam spray – I like to use a 9 x 13 aluminum pan – the disposable kind, makes for easy clean up.

Beat together (on low) shortening, margarine, sugar, baking powder, vanilla and eggs, constantly scraping sides of bowl. As you are mixing think happy thoughts.

Beat it on high for two minutes. More happy loving thoughts. Sprinkle in a smile or two – what can it hurt?!!

Add flour half a cup at a time – mix well.

Take two thirds of the mixture and spread it out over greased pan – you are probably going to have to use your fingers – so make sure they are very clean and the jewellery is removed. Its annoying to get dough out of those rings….

Make sure it’s even – sprinkle more love…..

Spread pie filling over it, making sure every square millimeter is covered.

Using the remaining dough, roll out in your hands lengths of dough and place over pie filling in lattice design. It will feel like you are playing with long worms of dough, but I so love this part. Make it pretty – it will add to the love. Leave space – the dough expands as it bakes.

Bake 45 minutes, or until you feel it is ready.

Take out of oven and leave it to cool, away from sticky hands and hungry tummies.

Turn oven off (hey, people do forget)

Once it is cool, you can glaze it. Also a fun thing to do.

Mix icing sugar with water – I usually measure by sight, but you need experience to do this, so let’s say for argument’s sake, mix 1 cup icing sugar with 2 tablespoons of water / milk. You want it mixed to a goopy consistency. Not too thick but not too runny either. Like Hummous – I guess. If it is too thick add a little more liquid. Too runny – add more icing sugar.

Once that’s mixed you can either just drizzle it out of the mixing bowl over the cake, or you can pipe it over so it looks fancier. Myself, I prefer easy – it all just runs together anyway. Leave it a half hour and its ready to serve.

 

If there is any left I always keep this in the refrigerator.

If you do make it, let me know how it went over.

 

Oh and it is mezonot!!

 

Have fun, and please remember to cook safely in the kitchen.

 

this is a pic without the icing – shows better how it should look.

piecake

Bookmark and Share

Protect your children?

Those of you who read my blog regularly know that I very rarely discuss politics. I don’t have time nor patience for it, and I don’t even pretend to understand what the heck goes on in government. There are plenty of other things in my life for me to get passionate about, so I leave the politicking to the pundits.

 

That being said I cannot ignore what is happening in Israel and Gaza. The world is making out that Israel are the bad guys for firing retaliatory rockets into Gaza. When someone repeatedly attacks you and you sit by doing nothing for a long time, does that give your attackers carte blanche to keep doing it? Does it make it right? No. So when you are finally fed up with these random attacks and you want to do something to make it stop, you are well within your rights. So Israel has decided these rocket attacks must end, and decides to retaliate in kind, and sends rockets to military targets in Gaza.

 

When Israel is under attack it sends its children to safety. There are reports of parents from southern towns sending their children to relatives in northern parts of the country in order to keep them safe. The bomb shelters are once again inhabited. Precautions are taken to safeguard life and limb, on the Israeli side. School has been cancelled. Our children’s safety is paramount.

 

In Gaza there have been reports of children hurt / killed at military installations that were targeted by Israel. Such a hue and cry that Israel killed innocents. What were such innocents doing in military installations? Where were their parents who are supposed to keep them safe and out of the line of danger? Are their parents, the military commanders, hiding behind their children? Are they that cowardly? If you knew you were a likely target of military strikes and you had children, would you not do all you could to safeguard your children’s lives? To me this just seems like common sense, but maybe other cultures think differently.

 

I am scared what the death toll on both sides will be once this campaign is over. If there will be a ground incursion to Gaza, what will that mean to Israel?  Will we be burying more of our young people? Will more parents mourn the loss of a son killed protecting his country? And if there is even one death mourned, will it have been worth it? Will this operation be the one to finally end the violence and the bloodshed? Or will the violence continue to be perpetuated by Hamas and its splinter groups?

 

My thoughts and prayers are with my family and friends, with my people of Israel. I know it is easy for us to sit here in North America and wring our hands at the plight of our brethren over there, but please know that you are in my prayers.