Daily Archives: December 25, 2008

Message from the Royal Scribe

Hear ye!!! Hear ye!!! Her Majesty the Queen of Hearts has asked me to inform you that my duties have been dispensed with for the next few days as the Queen is way too occupied to need my services. Her King of Diamonds is bringing his royal court up to spend Shabbat with the Queen’s court, so the Queen has much menu planning and kitchen supervising to be done. She must also oversee the housekeeping and make sure the royal laundry has been kept up to date. Her princes have been banished to their quarters to make sure their jousting equipment is safely stored. The Queen must also ensure that the accommodations for her King are satisfactory, in keeping with a man of his station in life.

 

The Queen must also take time to rest herself so that her appearance will continue to please the eye of her King, and that she may have energy to enjoy all the attentions of the King, princes and princesses. Court business is very draining, and entertaining is part of said business. Our Queen loves the entertainment and pageantry and is much looking forward to the pomp and circumstance that will surround the King’s visit.

 

The grocery shopping has been supervised, the dairy and meat pantries well stocked, and plenty of tasty treats have been planned for the young princes and princesses. Horses have been fed and watered so that a tour of the environs of our royal city can be taken. As I write, the peasants are stomping the grapes so that our Queen may have the royal vintage at her Shabbat table for her King to make kiddush on. One hears the pounding of fists as the challah dough is being kneaded by the local bakers. Vegetables are being plucked from the ground for the Queen’s favourite chicken soup made with her very own top secret recipe, matzah being ground so that Cook can make extra special fluffy matzah balls as an accompaniment for the soup. The ritual slaughterer is chasing chickens in the courtyard, and the fatted calf is being prepared in the meat kitchen.

 

I am sure there are many more delectable mouthwatering dishes that will be served, but I must return to my little village, to my simple life, until such a time as the Queen needs my services. (I hope there will be some leftovers for me……)

 

Your Humble Servant

The Royal Scribe

Bookmark and Share

Reminiscing

Just wanted to revisit some of my favourite blog postings – from the early days 9 months ago when I first started this enterprise until now. Re reading them has been awesome – how things can change in such a small amount of time!

 

Here  I wrote about my love for coffee – and it has just grown and matured ever since.

 

I wrote about Prince Pigeon putting on tefillin here  for the first time. Every time I read this piece I remember every feeling and emotion I had at that time.

 

Rereading this post cracked me up do us divorcees rate, especially now that I am getting married and have found the man of my dreams.

 

Here are my two favourite poems – Friday Night Lights  and In Awe of Life

  

My prayer at the Kotel.

 

And to end off, my fave post about my special princes.

Have a wonderful day!