Daily Archives: May 20, 2009

Hadassah’s Chicken Pot Pie

I love to make this recipe with chicken that was cooked in my chicken soup. Yum! There are a couple of my offspring who do not like this dish, so it was renamed in the Pink household as Poison Pot Pie….but it’s delicious whichever name you call it! Please also remember that I approximate measurements.

Ingredients:

One pkg Prepared Pastry (yes you can cheat – but it still has to be rolled out)

1/2 pkg froz veggies of your choice

1/3 cup Margarine

1/3 cup Flour

1/3 cup diced Onion

2 cups Chicken Broth

2 cups cooked Chicken – chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

What to do:

Preheat oven to 350.

Melt the margarine – low to medium flame.

Slowly add the flour and onion.

Mix it well till it is like a chunky paste.

Stir it continuously until it bubbles.

Add in the chicken broth, and the salt and pepper.

Mix.

Add chicken and frozen veggies.

Stir well.

Boil up and leave to simmer.

Prepare pastry on pie dish. Set aside enough pastry for the top.

Fill till just a little below the top with chicken mixture.

Cover carefully with pastry, poke holes in the top.

Bake for 30 – 35 minutes until golden brown.

Prep time – 30 minutes

Servings – 6

Calories – Plenty!

Bookmark and Share

Wednesday’s Wacky Signs

funny_signs_6

Another Frumster Files WWYD?

 

The dating world in North American Orthodox Jewry is seemingly very small. With every shidduch (match) suggested you are bound to know someone who knows the family or the person.

 

Add Frumster (an online dating service)   to the equation – many of your single girlfriends have dated the same guys as you, or have at least chatted with them. If you are a little different you become even more memorable. Like me – a divorced mom with 4 boys in Montreal. Kinda hard to forget – but I was not the only one, which  apparently led to some confusion once.

 

So when a still single girlfriend asks you about a dude she met on Frumster that she knows you spoke with and / or dated – and keeping in mind the laws of Lashon Hara –  gossip – what are you supposed to say? If you know for sure 100% that it wouldn’t work, that’s great, you can just say it wouldn’t work out. But if your friend asks you why it didn’t work out for you and him what are you supposed to say? If you dated him and he was perfect you would have married him – like I did with my KoD. (yes hon, you are perfect, perfect for me). What if what you have to say doesn’t jive with what he had to say.

 

I was recently asked about someone who was a great charmer, and came across as everything a woman could dream of. (I dated a few of them….) I told my friend that this guy was not for her. I put it that succinctly. Truth be told he wasn’t for anyone that I care about or wish good things for. I had a negative experience with him – but does that necessarily mean that she would? Maybe they would be a good match. Maybe my negative experience coloured the way I see him. There is such a responsibility in this.

 

There are a few guys that I dated that were close to being The One. Close, but not quite, and those guys I would not hesitate in recommending to my girlfriends. (Except for the one that just got married!!).

 

I have friends that are shadchanim (matchmakers) and I don’t know how they do it – without Lashon Hara and without stress.

 

So here’s the WWYD question. You dated Mr X and he turned out to be a real piece of work. You went your separate ways. A year or two later he is suggested to your friend Ms Y as a potential shidduch. They email, he mentions he dated you and thinks the world of you so your friend asks you about him. Do you tell the truth? Or temporize? Just say “not for you, trust me”? Or do you let her meet him and make up her own mind with the potential that she might get hurt?

Bookmark and Share

10K challenge

My buddy Treppenwitz    has issued a challenge – 10,000 steps a day. Read all about it here. I have decided to join him in his quest for physical fitness. His challenge is for a month, starting May 24 2009, but I decided to start a few days earlier. I bought a pedometer, which works but annoys me with its constant clicking, so I am all set.

 

I am adding my own wrinkle – no elevators, and I live on the 9th floor. I am allowed to take the elevator only when I have stuff to shlepp. I do my jogging in the morning, a walk at night, and stairs all day long. 10,000 steps – easy shmeasy….

 

So are you in too? Pop over to Trep and he will tell you how to sign up. Good Luck!