Daily Archives: May 14, 2009

Frumster Files #78547

Not too long ago I received an email from a guy I had briefly communicated with on Frumster. He told me he had been thinking of me and wanted to just catch up. We just hadn’t gelled in our initial emails, so I had let him down gently.

 

I thought it was nice of him to send me such a polite email, but he seemed still interested. So I emailed him back that I had recently got married and was moving. I ended off by wishing him the best for the future.

 

He replied that he wished us Mazel Tov, perhaps he could come over and stay at our house for a Shabbat some day soon. I should let him know when I am settled.

 

What? Are we even friends? Am I crazy in thinking this was just plain weird? I emailed back some kind of reply that was vague….but I was disturbed….. Would you have him over? I totally wouldn’t.

Bookmark and Share

Celebrate Good Times!

To My KoD!

Tomorrow at 1 pm we will have been married for exactly 3 months – 89 days – 2136 hours – 128, 160 minutes – 7 689 600 seconds. I have had some wonderful, happy days in my life, most notably the days that all four of my sons were born. The day that you made me your wife there was a feeling of rightness to it, such pure joy, such contentment, such absolute bliss [plus I didn’t have to go through hours of painful labour (ok maybe the wedding planning….)]

 

I will never forget waiting in the Bride’s room to be told that you wereNJP_3531 - Copy awaiting me under our Chuppah. I just wanted to run straight to you and stay in the circle of your embrace forever. I hugged my sons who were so very happy for us both – and I walked those few feet to the Chuppah alone, alone for the very last time. You walked out to meet me, in front of family and friends, and the world faded around us. It was just you and me. Together, finally. Our wedding was perfect, just as I dreamed it would be – perfect because I married you, the man of my dreams.

 

P2150051 - CopyYou continue to show me the depth of your love for me, your strength of character, your faith in the face of adversity, your never-ending supply of patience. Being apart from each other is a huge test – harder than either of us thought it would be. But you keep me focused on the end goal – living together under the same roof in the same city; you help me deal with the sadness by reminding me how we need to make the most of any time we have together and not waste it with wishing things were different. You have such a calming effect on me, my KoD. You are so wise and rational – I don’t know if you noticed but I tend to be a little more on the emotional side….. 😉 . i love how much fun we can have, and how we can discuss everything under the sun. I love how you weigh my opinions and are not afraid to disagree.

 

I look forward to every day with you, being in your life. I love our epic long conversations. I love even just being quiet with you – there is such a peaceful feeling just being in the same place as you. (Yes folks, I can be quiet). It’s like the world is finally on the right axis. I love waking up on some Fridays knowing I am going to see you for Shabbat and counting the hours. I love that my heart starts to knock real hard on my chest walls when I drive up our street in Monsey, or when you drive up our street in Montreal. I love that every time I see you I fall in love with you all over again, even more deeply every single time. I look in your eyes and I am overwhelmed by the love that I see there.

 

Last Rosh Hashannah / Yom Kippur I davened so hard for Hashem to help me find my missing half if He deemed it to be the right thing for me. I had no clue how fast He would work on my behalf. I am in awe that He listened to my prayer.

 

I was reminiscing with a friend this week about the first time you and I met, in Lake George. This friend babysat for my boys. She was there when I got home all starry eyed and deeply in love. What I felt for you then pales in comparison to what I feel for you now.

 

My KoD, you are my rock, my knight in shining armour, my best friend. I look forward to loving you more every day for the rest of our lives.

 

With deepest love

Your QoH.

OUR STORY

OUR WEDDING STORY part 1, part 2, part 3

Listen carefully

 

I woke up as hoarse as anything. Mind you last night when the KoD called he thought one of the kids was playing tricks on him because this voice he didn’t recognize answered the phone. It was me, the girlie girl who sounded like a man yesterday. Today I sound like nothing, just a barely discernible croak. Luckily they all read by now, so I can tell them what to do in note form. (Ok, waking them up by showing them a note – that didn’t work. Reminds me of a joke, let me see if I can find it. Yep, found it)

 

Every time I get a cold I end up with laryngitis, every single time. My doctor always tells me to be quiet for 4 days. Yep. Not gonna happen. But truth is every time I strain my voice it takes that much longer for my larynx to heal. Some doctors will give antibiotics for laryngitis, some don’t. If I go to the walk in clinic I won’t get antibiotics, but if I manage to scrounge an appointment with my GP I will. Perhaps I will just email her and have her call in a scrip to the pharmacy. She’s done that before.

 

So – I am supposed to go swimming later with my workout buddy. Will this exacerbate my cold and laryngitis or not? I remember as a kid not being allowed to go as I could pick up more germs if I was under the weather. But surely the chlorine kills all those germs? Exercise is supposed to do a body good, no? Let me know what you think.

 

Have an awesome day!

Tuneful Thursday

I have had this song stuck in my head for the past week. So I am sharing the earworm.