Daily Archives: May 26, 2009

Cover your nees [sic]

 

Jacob Da Jew  tweeted and blogged the link to this article I don’t know what surprised me more, the article or the comments or the subject of the article. Basically in Lakewood a woman’s child was handed a note to give to his mother telling her that her knees were showing. The comments are ……… I don’t even know what to say…..

Simply The Best

I get to start my day with a cuddle from Prince ChatterBox. It is just so yummy. He’ll be 7 on Thursday but still loves to curl up on my lap, put his arms around my neck and snuggle. It is so precious. I appreciate it even more because I know in a few short months / years it won’t happen any more. My two oldest are way too big to sit on my lap and cuddle even if they wanted to, which of course, being teenagers, they totally don’t. Prince HockeyFan still likes a hug in the morning, but not this snuggleupableness that I get with the little ‘un.

 

It’s enough to get the grumpitude out of anyone.

Disgusted

 

I received an email from a friend / acquaintance who is in shidduchim. She is a Baalat Tshuva of some years, and is in her early 30s.

 

She was recently introduced to a shadchan in New York who wants to start setting her up on dates. She told me that she stormed out of the meeting with this person when the questioning got too personal. Is it normal for a shadchan to ask either party, male or female, if they are a virgin or even how many sexual partners they have had??!!

 

My friend was so disgusted that she left, and doesn’t really want to go see any shadchanim after that. I can’t blame her. What is this world coming to? Would they ask that of an FFB? If a person chooses not to answer – does that count against them?

 

I feel ill.

Bookmark and Share

Don’t pee on my parade, a WWYD?

I wrote this originally before the wedding (3 months ago), but have slightly updated it. Sometimes I write something and am not ready to post it then, but I am ready now.

 

With every simcha (happy event) there is always going to be someone predicting doom and gloom. Generally it is a family member who knows “better” than the celebrants themselves, although sometimes it is a “friend”. I call these people “parade pishers”.

 

We have such a pisher. This person is someone that has been close to me, and always was there for me when needed. Let’s call this one PP. PP has always spoken his mind, was never shy of telling me an opinion, but it was ok for me to disagree, it was enough that I heard what PP said. PP told me he wanted nothing more than for me to find the man of my dreams, settle down and marry and be happy forevermore. Until it happened. Then there was a whole host of issues that were brought up. Issues about me being selfish and not thinking of the best interests of the children, me putting myself first, that moving away is wrong, that getting married was a terrible idea, how well do I even know the KoD etc.

 

This PP has continued on his quest to undermine and judge every move I make. It has come to the point that things that have come out of his mouth are so hurtful and wrong and just show how far from objectivity he has fallen.

 

This PP even went so far as to enlist the “help” of others to try to convince us we were making a mistake. This “help” backfired as we found out about it, and were appalled at how far PP tried to infiltrate our lives to get what he wanted. I firmly believe that in his messed-up mind PP thinks he is acting in my best interests. My issue now is whether I let PP know that we know his scheme. It’s obvious, unfortunately, that PP cannot be trusted with any more confidences, but do I let it slide, or do I confront this PP? I miss his friendship and wonder whether he is aware that he has hurt me.

 

WWYD?