Daily Archives: May 18, 2009

For Sale!

 

Adorable. One of the grades is having a bake sale at school tomorrow. My littlest dude says to me on the way home “they are selling bakes. What does a bake look like?” Too cute for words my little man!!

Quick question

 

Do you believe men and women can be platonic friends? Why or why not? does it matter if either party is married or in a committed relationship? What if they dated and it just didn’t work out? What if one party is romantically interested but the other isn’t? I am very interested in your views…..

Confessions of a Caffeine addict

 

I know, I know, I was doing so well. Yesterday I actually had 2 cups of coffee,Coffee_Lover but the KoD (bless him) bought me the Folgers coffee that is supposedly easier on the stomach –it’s called Simply Smooth (sounds like a body cream or summat)  – and it really works. The only reason I stopped drinking coffee was due to the stomach aches. So if I can get rid of the aches and enjoy coffee – why shouldn’t I imbibe whenever I want? As addictions go – it isn’t that bad. I could be addicted to so many other things, shoes, clothes, shopping, food, drugs, alcohol etc.

 

But it’s good to know that I could stop cold turkey and survive if I ever wanted to again. Not that I foresee that happening any time soon.

A WWYD?

 

This situation recently happened to a friend of mine and she wasn’t sure what to do. I thought I would poll you people and ask you what you would have done.

 

Said friend is single, on the dating scene and was recently introduced to a young fella. Soon after she received an email from this fella saying that unfortunately he was sitting shiva.

 

My friend wasn’t sure what she should do. She doesn’t know this guy at all, except for being introduced to him, but he is sitting shiva. Should she pay a shiva call – or does that say she found him interesting? Should she just email back and say how sorry she was to hear his news, she wishes him long life? What would be the right way to behave?

Bookmark and Share

Happy Birthday to a special person

 

 

You have not been long in my life

But are already becoming a huge part

Of my circle of treasured people.

 

Your smile lights me up

From the inside out, warming

Me on the coldest day.

 

We are still taking our own

Private measures of each other

Assessing the other’s risk.

 

In time I know things will

Be smooth and even keeled

I cannot wait for that time.

 

But until then please know

You already hold a very special

Place, deep in my heart.

 

Have a truly wonderful day

And a special year.

You deserve it!

Threatening Borders

 

I seem to have issues with crossing the USA/Canada border. It was just a short while ago my vehicle was refused entry to Canada. Friday morning I was again detained at the border – this time entering the States.

 

As you know I have borrowed a car from a friend, my neighbour Mr CarMan. I have a signed letter from him giving me permission to drive it into the States, I have the registration and insurance documents. All 100% above board and kosher.

 

I took the littlest prince to school on Friday morning and drove the 45 miles or so to the border on the way to go see my KoD for Shabbat. Luckily there was hardly any traffic and I made good time. There was one car in front of me as I pulled up to the border. It was 9 am.

 

The border guard takes my passport, asks me the usual questions. Then he asked me whose car I was driving. Now, I am sure some people would lie, but I can never remember my lies, so I don’t lie. It’s just so much safer that way. As soon as I said I was driving my friend’s car he started acting all suspicious. “Does he know you have his car? Why did he lend you his car?” The dude must have asked me ten times where I live and where I was going – like my answer is going to change?!

 

He walked around the van, opened the trunk, opened my suitcase and started going through my things. I felt violated. I know that he has a right to do so – anyone entering the states can be searched. He then directed me to drive over to the office building and park in spot number 2. There were 2 agents waiting there for me, and by the time we had entered the building I was surrounded by 5 agents. I guess they found skinny little me very threatening!

 

Now usually when I go into this building I use the immigration side – to fill in a form or what have you. It’s not scary just time consuming. This time they took me behind a high partition. And once again, it was training day at the border. And once again, they were learning on me. Nice. Which meant every question and answer was analyzed right in front of me.

 

They had me fill out a customs declaration form. As I was filling it out they asked me the same questions over and over and over again, the same way, phrased differently etc. I finally asked them what was going on. I just wanted to understand what they were worried about. I was told that they had the right to search me and my vehicle to ensure I wasn’t carrying anything into the States that I wasn’t supposed to. They made me empty my pockets, turn them inside out, they went through my purse, emptied it all out. Went through my stuff with a fine toothcomb. They asked how much money I had – I told them the truth – not very much. Then they asked if I was bringing in 10,000 dollars or more in cash or merchandise. No. Am I taking any articles for resale? No. Do I have any illegal drugs? No. Did I bring gifts? No (I’m a cheapskate lol). Who am I going to visit? Family. Which family? My husband. At this point I was worried that they would start making immigration noises – you know, like have you applied for residency etc. Nothing. Nada. Zip. They were not interested in that. Just if I was drug trafficking.

 

At this point I was shaking. I know I had done nothing wrong, but they make you feel guilty and just so violated. I guess finally they decided I was who I said I was, that I was not a threat to national security, and they allowed me to sit down. They made me turn off my PoisonBerry  so I couldn’t even text my KoD for him to know I was detained. (Or for him to soothe me and comfort me and tell me it will all be ok).  There was a young lad who was sitting there after being pulled off a bus that was on its way to Albany. They apparently didn’t like the allergy medication they found in his bag.

 

While I was sitting there they were ripping Mr CarMan’s van apart looking for who knows what. But of course I couldn’t see that. I had to just sit there staring into space and not appearing nervous. They finally asked me for the permission letter from Mr CarMan. They gave it a cursory glance and returned it. Gave me my papers and by 10 am I was back on the highway going south to see my husband. I stopped at the first rest stop to clean the car back up and to stop shaking. Finally I was able to calm down and drive the rest of the way to Monsey without incident, B”H.